Ramen Museum and Ghibli Museum

This past week has been a whirlwind of adventures. This last Sunday, I went to Yokohama with some friends. There, we explored the Ramen Museum, went to the Pokemon Center, and saw the beautiful coastal line. First stop, Ramen Museum.Image

This place was definitely one I would recommend going to, but only once. We got to explore the museum and see how the first instant ramen was made, as well as learn a lot about the different noodles of the world. My favorite experience though was making my very own instant ramen. First, we got to decorate the cup, then we waited in line and watched them put the noodles in. We then went through the process of picking our broth and toppings. I got the regular broth, sasauge, garlic bits, corn, and cheese. After listing the ingredients out, it kind of sounds gross. I guess I will figure out soon enough!Image

After the museum, we went to the Pokemon Center. It was filled with various items from the new Pokemon X and Y game. As much as I love Pokemon, I only left with a Pokeball since most of the items were really expensive. After Pokemon Center (and Krispy Kreme!), we split up.Image

I ended up going with another one of my friends to this tower that will let you see all of Yokohama and the Bay. Apparently the elevator that you take to go up is the fastest in Japan. i could definitely tell it was, when my ears started to pop. Sadly, after this we left Yokohama and headed back to ICU to do homework.

Image

The next day, I went to the Ghibli Museum. For those of you who don’t know, Ghibli is a famous studio in Japan who produces amazing, artistic movies such as: Totoro, Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, etc. I have to say, it was probably one of the coolest museums I’ve ever been to. Not only did you get to see some of Miyazaki’s work, but they had a lot of instruments that you could interact with, that showed you how the movies are made in a unique way. We even got to see a short 16 minute film that is exclusive to the museum and won’t be shown anywhere else. Sadly, they don’t allow you to take pictures in the museum, so I don’t have much to show. However, we did end our time there by going to the cafe and getting some oishi(delicious) lattes with the cutest latte art on it. 

Overall, it’s been a good week. Tomorrow is Halloween, and I can’t wait to go out and celebrate it Japan style. I will have to update you all on how it goes. Til then, Ja matta.

 

Leave a comment